How to Delete All Partitions?
Why do you need to delete your partition?
In the following cases, you need to delete your partition:
You do not want the partition anymore.
You do not want all the data on the partition forever.
You want to merge the partition with another partition but they are not adjacent to each other.
You want some unallocated space to extend another partition.
Once, one of my neighbors asked me to help with his computer. I am always invited to solve PC problems by my neighbors and friends since I was engaged in this software company; and I am happy that I can help. I considered what the matter it is on seeing his worried face. However, after he told me his worries, I smiled and asked him to relax since it is a piece of cake if he makes use of our Partition Assistant. Actually, he wants to extend his c partition but he does not have an unallocated space on his computer. He does not want to merge any other partition to c except f, but partition f is not adjacent to c. Still, if he can merge f with c, he does not want the data on it any more. In such case, just as I told him, he should delete f partition first to get an unallocated space. Then, he can enlarge c partition with the unallocated space. Like this, he gets all he intended. It is easy and not difficult as what he expected.
If you have several partitions on a disk and you don’t need them anymore, however, you don’t want to delete those partitions one by one; in this case, "Delete All Partitions" will help you delete those partitions once and for all. This function applies in all Windows OS (Operating System), all editions (both 32 and 64 bit), such as Windows 7/8, Windows Server (including Server 2012 R2) and Windows SBS (Small Business Server). After that, your disk will become blank and you can make full use of this disk by re-partition it. Then, how to run it? Please look the below.
Before you do
If the disk from which you are going to delete all partitions contains some important data, please create a backup for those data before you delete all partitions for they may be lost during the operation.
If there are other applications running on the partition which you are going to perform, AOMEI Partition Assistant will notice you to close those applications or to execute this operation under PreOS Mode. Therefore, in order to avoid the diploma, you can close these applications before deletion.
You will not be able to delete the Windows partition that you are currently logged in to. The only way would be to delete it at boot or during a Windows installation.
To delete all partitions
Step1. Select the disk that you want to clear in main window; right click it and select "Delete All Partitions" to invoke the related dialog.
Delete All Partitions
Step2. Select the delete method in the following dialog, there are two options:
Option One: Just delete all partitions on a hard disk. (The data which has been deleted is recoverable if you choose option one in this situation)
Option Two: Delete all partitions and wipe all data on the hard drive. If you choose this one, even data recovery software still can’t recovery the data on these partitions. Therefore, think twice before you decided to do this. Or, you can just make a backup of these data before deletion as mentioned above.
Deleting Methods
Step3. Click Apply to execute the operation if you are satisfied with the result viewed by the pending image listed on the main interface. Then, several minutes later, all the partitions on the disk will be deleted forever.
Apply
Note:
Please do not delete all partitions on a system disk, boot partition, or any partition that contains the virtual memory paging file, because Windows needs this information to start correctly. Doing that will make your computer unbootable the next time when you start it.
If you delete a primary partition, the empty space you get is called unallocated disk space. If you delete a logical partition within an extended drive the resulting empty space is called free space, then you will need to delete the free space again to have it as unallocated space. You can now use the empty space to create additional volumes.
If you are not tired with repeated operations and are willing to delete the partitions one by one, obviously you have another way to delete those partitions with AOMEI Partition Assistant. Yes! Delete them one after another by repeatedly choose “Delete Partition”! There is also another method—merge these partitions and delete them all. You may not merge all the partitions into one, but it can still decrease the time you click “Delete Partition”. Any, whatever way you choose, you can get what you want. Still, “Delete All Partition” is the easiest and fastest one.